jump to navigation

New Years Resolutions January 3, 2008

Posted by Adam Adshead in Conceptual BJJ.
Tags: ,
trackback

goals

Ok, so it’s early January and like so many people, I’m thinking about resolutions.

Societal impressions and stereotypes on having such things are obvious to all. The reason why so many people think they’re hollow or a waste of time is because most people who make them break them within a few weeks.

I understand the somewhat naïve almost quixotic beauty of starting a fresh year by spring cleaning the faults we want to change, but why wait till the New Year? It does make sense to start fresh but it holds similar logic as getting up only on an even number or rounding up to get the most amount of time in bed. (Or is that only me who does that?)

So whether you have a New Year’s resolution which is BJJ related or just a personal one, I wish you all the best in achieving them. If you waiver or need to tweak your resolution or want to start a new one, just do it. Don’t wait till January 1st 2009 constantly look at improving and developing in everything you do.

This year I don’t have resolutions I’ve made a whole list of Goals/Targets. Some are tangible and quantifiable others are things to work towards and unquantifiable. They’re separated into my goals as a BJJ athlete, a coach, as a writer, photographer, chess player and as a human being. I’ve printed them off and I see them on my wall everyday, so when I wake up it acts as a stern reminder to get to work on actualising my goals.

My Goals/Targets for BJJ this year will soon be in the about me section for you all to see. (It has it’s own seperate page in the sub-catogories on the right hand side.) I think that openly publishing them and having them written down will help me stay on track throughout the coming year. It also means if I don’t succeed you can all point and laugh.

All the best for 2008.

Adam Adshead

Photo Link

signiture

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

